8th October 2018

We had a wonderful Senior School assembly today and were delighted to welcome Guy Clark and Peter McCarthy as our special guests along with many parents to see the children receive their awards. 

Mr Peter McCarthy DL has been a truly committed and long-standing volunteer in our DofE programme and today we formally marked his retirement and thanked him for 15 years of outstanding service to St Columba’s School. 

Mr Guy Clark, Her Majesty's Lord-Lieutenant of Renfrewshire, presented our Colours and Honours awards and also presented Mark Connolly (SVI) with a personal letter to congratulate him on winning the Julia Wood Prize, an annual History essay competition run by St Hugh’s College, Oxford. This is the second consecutive year a St Columba’s pupil has won this prestigious competition.

Well done to the following pupils who were presented with Honours and Awards today:


Presented by Mr Peter McCarthy DL

Bronze: Sandie Rennison, Elliot Nixon, Samuel Riis, Jack Patton, Matthew Brodlie, Matthew Porter, Amy Cowling, Connie Reid, Lana Crouch, Archie Sandground, Cameron Knox, Charlotte Westwood, Orla Clark, Lewis Winning, Victoria Lambert, Max Hendry, Philippa Saddler, Annie Kane, Maddy Brooksbank, Cara McClymont, Alexander Davies, Molly Rose, Cara Bruce, Hector Wedderburn, Fraser Currie, Isla MacLean, Ross Findlater, Romy Erskine, Calum Fleming, Flo Eadie, Luca Girasoli-Bett, Ben Aslett, Jamie Hay, Cara Brown, MacKenzie Holmes, Jennifer Gow, Eilidh Lindsay, William Howe, Grace McLoughin, Logan Stirling

Silver: Harry Rodgers, Calum MacKichan, Harris Brown, Sarah Sandground, Hannah Lee, Fraser Thomson, Mosa Al-Bedri, Kirsty McLean, Calvin Wardell, Calvin Wilson, Laura Smith, Kate Shaw, Lucy Bliss, Isla Macpherson, Rory Campbell, Lucy Niven, Marni Kincaid, Lewis Heasley, Catriona Lindsay, Holly Hendry, Kirstin Schellekens, Arabella Keogh, Jamie Macmillan, Marisa Samuel, Sebastian Bogle, Jessie Cuthbertson



Presented by Mr Guy Clark, FSI, JP, Her Majesty's Lord-Lieutenant of Renfrewshire


Junior Half Colours: Eve Blincow, Madeleine Bower, Lauren Carson, Finlay Davidson, Archie Keogh, Jamie Hay, Matt Makin, Finlay McLaughlin, Magnus Muir, Ciaran Parker, Alistair Peacock, Poppy Pitts, Erin Ramsay, Gregor Rawson, Ryan Rooney

Junior Colours: Iona Ashby, Eve Blincow, Madeleine Bower, Lorien Carnegie, Lauren Carson, Emma Downie, Adam Hannah, Poppy Pitts, Amelia Rae, Heather Young



Junior Colours: Eve Blincow, Madeleine Bower, Romy Erskine, Lindsay Greenlees, Freya Halliday, Lucy Macmillan



Junior Colours: Logan Storie

Senior Colours: Angus Reid, Harry Rodgers


Junior Colours:

Archie Sandground

Senior Colours: Cameron Stark



David Cruickshank - representing Scotland in the U18 Youth Fly Fishing International



Snare Drummers: Neave Halliday, Jamie Hay, Connie Reid

Bass Drummer: Lewis McWhirter


View Mr McCarthy’s DofE address and Mr Clark’s presentation to Mark here.


St Columba's School Kilmacolm

St Columba's School Kilmacolm

St Columba's School Kilmacolm

St Columba's School Kilmacolm


Return To News
Previous Article VE Day Tea Party
Next Article J3 Visit Muirshiel Country Park
527 Rate this article:
No rating

Find Us

Visit Us

Contact Us